Review : 50 Shades of Grey

50shades

“Literature student Anastasia Steele’s life changes forever when she meets handsome, yet tormented, billionaire Christian Grey.”

So… this movie, is not what I expected. Firstly those much talked about sex scenes are okay, I wasn’t ever offended or shocked, or impressed or anything like that. They are there, there is a lot of it, but that’s about all to me, but maybe I’m not the target audience. The story however is what I didn’t expect. The Character of Anastasia Steele played by Dakota Johnson is truly the best part of the movie. She plays her role very well here, but that also plays into a problem I have with the movie, and that is just how good she is at everything. For one she’s an amazing flirt, and really good in her own methods of manipulation ( btw was I really supposed to believe she was a virgin?). For a lot of the movie you see two of them playing this game, that should be much more one sided, but is not. Then there is the question of the more “abusive” parts of the story. Like I said before, none of it offended me, but I have to think would she have put up with it if his ass wasn’t a billionaire? Beyond those things however there really isn’t that much in this movie. No crazy money and sex and this movie would just be a Rom-Com, but I know it’s going to make a shit tonne of money, even though it’s a not that good movie spawned of Twilight fan fiction.

Review Score : 4 out of 10

2 thoughts on “Review : 50 Shades of Grey

  1. Wai Li says:

    I dare say this was one of the tamest movies I’ve ever seen. I found it lacked flow and was therefore a tad confusing to those who hadn’t read the book. I hear the director and author didn’t get along. Was it a contribution to the luke warm result? Might be. I also think that since this one was so poor quality, fans might keep their money in their pockets for the next two.

    Like

Leave a Reply

