Review : Insurgent

insurgent-poster-shailene-woodley

“Beatrice Prior must confront her inner demons and continue her fight against a powerful alliance which threatens to tear her society apart with the help from others on her side.”

Full disclosure from the start, I did not read these books before hand, nor do I intend to. It is possible that a lot of the problems I have with this movie could be solved if I had read the books, but I shouldn’t have to. Films like this should be a stand alone experience. That being said, half of this movie for me made absolutely no sense. There were numerous times where I literally looked around wondering if I was the only confused one. Like seriously, I feel like if parts of this movie are missing, that’s how bad it was at certain points. That aside, the look and feel of this movie has definitely been ampted up from the last time in all the big ways. We get better visuals, bigger action and all lots of new set pieces. This movie also has its fair share of good acting, which you expect seeing how many good actors are cast here. That being said, a lot of the real emotional aspects of this movie that are supposed to hit me and resonate with me really fell flat and didn’t come across genuine at all. All in all this is a disappointing follow up to a movie I didn’t think was half bad. I’m really wishing now they wouldn’t split the last book into two movies.

Review Score : 5 out of 10

4 thoughts on “Review : Insurgent

  1. For the record, the book is just as bad. The third book is even worse. I’ve never been so pissed at a book in my life. The movie made no sense, and I had a similar feeling of being lost when I read the book. It’s a shame too because Roth has such interesting ideas that she never fleshes out. The ironic thing is that the movie is actually a very good adaptation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

