Review : Hotel Transylvania 2

hotel_transylvania_two_ver4_xlg

“Dracula and his friends try to bring out the monster in his half human, half vampire grandson in order to keep Mavis from leaving the hotel.”

The first Hotel Transylvania was a really pleasant surprise for me, as i liked it really much more than i thought i would, which i guess i should have thought i would since this was a Genndy Tartakovsky property, and i absolutely love everything he does. So i was looking forward to this second one and well, I’m not impressed or disappointed. This movie is very much entertaining and actually very funny, it just doesn’t re-invent the wheel here or anything. In many ways it feels like this could just be a movie by itself, and it doesn’t truly feel like an out and out sequel. That being said, i do think you should watch this movie, it is a good animated movie, it just doesn’t take the franchise to a new or higher level. There is this one joke however, about diabetes, that had me dying for a long time, so pay attention for that one. The voice cast here is solid also, everyone does a great job of fitting their voice to their characters persona, and there is some very good attention to detail in the animation on a whole.

Review Score : 7.5 out of 10

8 thoughts on “Review : Hotel Transylvania 2

  1. Teresa says:

    My guess is the diabetes joke wouldn’t have had you “dying for a long time” if you were the parent of a child with type 1 diabetes. If you had to watch you child check his blood sugar levels every few hours & have to take insulin injections with every meal. How a lifelong illness could be humorous to others is beyond me! Do yourself a favor & educate yourself
    http://www.jdrf.org

    Liked by 1 person

    • woah, i have a sister who has had diabetes since she was 6 and is now nearly, i know VERY well the affects of the disease on both those who suffer with it, AND the family of those around them, i also lost my grandfather to type 2 diabetes so please don’t take offence when i can laugh at things in life instead of giving them the power to hurt me more, so next time you want to get on a soapbox and preach, ask yourself first if maybe you might be judging people before you know anything about them.

      Like

  2. Laura says:

    I am a parent of a 5 year old Type 1 diabetic and I did not find that joke funny at all. That is why everyone is soooo misinformed and do not understand the difference between Type 1 and Type 2 diabetics. My daughter did not eat cake or sugar to get Type 1 diabetes and she is not scary! Most Type 2’s have a choice to change their lifestyles of eating and exercise to get rid of their Type 2 diabetes. Type 1 diabetics pancreas is dead and they are insulin dependent not due to exercise or lifestyle. She did nothing and it was not funny watching/hearing that joke with her. That parent has every right to stand tall on her soap box and I will with her. EDUCATE YOUR SELF BEFORE YOU COMMENT. TYPE 1 DIABETES AND TYPE 2 ARE NOT THE SAME DISEASE!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura, at no point did i say that type 1 and type 2 diabetes are the same thing, i said my grandfather had type 2, but my sister has had type 1 for more than 20 years now, and my family even helped found a juvenile diabetes association in my country, so please, I’m sorry you and your daughter thought that the joke was in poor taste, it is simply a difference of opinions on our parts, but do not for one second think that i don’t not know or understand diabetes in all forms and what it can do.

      Like

  3. dlwoods says:

    I don’t understand how you could possibly think that joke was funny if you had a sister with Type 1 or if your grandfather died from type 2. It is so heartbreaking to have your child go through type 1 diabetes. Watching the movie with my type 1 son next to me and hearing that joke was like a kick in the gut. As if he doesn’t have enough to deal with without this movie presenting his illness like he brought it on himself from eating too much cake. I think it’s great that your family helped with a juvenile diabetes association…I just wonder if you saw the daily struggles your sister and other family members went through…It kind of bugs me even more that someone who knows what it’s about would think it’s funny. At least most of the population is ignorant about the difference between type 1 and 2…and they have an excuse.

    Like

    • Look, please don’t assume anything about my family, like i said before, it’s just a difference of opinions, that is all, i hope your son or daughter didn’t take it too personally and i wish you nothing but hope for the future.

      Like

  4. Janine says:

    Lighten up people. I have Type 1 & 2 Diabetics in my immediate family. I’m also overweight, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think fat jokes aren’t hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

