Iron Fist and the Netflix Defenders Universe

So with the recent release of Iron Fist, we have now officially had all the proposed entries that lead up to the much anticipated Defenders cross over series. I though it then only right that now was perfect time to put my two cents into the ring. In an overall sense I must say I’m more pleased than anything about the 4 series we have received, but I think there are clear highs, clear lows, and some restructuring that should be done to make most all of these shows better in their future iterations. I’ll start with Iron Fist as its freshest in our memories. If i had to review the series the way i review movies i probably score it somewhere around 6 or 7 (because I try very much to rate things not just on there worth but on their potential) and I think that would be a fair score. I have a few beefs with the season and I’ll go over them all. First off with the exception of Daredevil, I think all three other series have shown that without the same depth of narrative that are available to Daredevil, they don’t have the content to support 13 hour long episodes and they would all have been better in a series order of 8-10 episodes. I applaud the effort in what Iron Fist tried to do with its combat, but I think it suffered from not having the time to truly get some of these actors to level they needed to be to be 100% effective and compelling in their fighting style and ability (we can even see the difference in Danny’s body over the course of the series, showing he didn’t start where at the level he should have). In another show that might be less of a problem, but when the show is Iron Fist, the fighting is really important. I think Iron Fist also suffered from the lack of a truly major villain over the course of its story as it constantly swaps them in and out and that causes a constant loss of momentum. My biggest beef though, is the lack of a scene like this:

iron-fist-netflix-series-writer-showrunner

and to make matters worse, we were constantly teased a full Danny lose control rage out scene, that just never happened. Its not all gloom and doom however, I do think Iron Fist has one of the most organic romances to date in these series. I truly felt that there was a connection between Danny and Colleen, even when he was preoccupied with revenge. The series also had the task of introducing a lot of the mystic elements into this world, and it more or less does its job.

Like I mentioned earlier, I do think Luke Cage and Jessica Jones would have benefitted from a shorter run of episodes. Luke Cage I think was the most egregious of these two as I think the series took a drastic turn for the worst after the removal of one of the main characters, and replacing him with what was more caricature than character. Jessica Jones I think is the second best of the series thus far, because even though I think it could have been shorter, I don’t think it ever strayed too far from what it was or tried to be. Also, its decision to take on the issues it did I think was a welcome change to what we might have expected from a series like that. And then there’s Daredevil, the gift that keeps on giving. After giving us season one, it came back with an arguably as strong second season, but with the addition of great characters in The Punisher and Elektra, one of which was so strong he got his own series to come.

Now that the all the pieces have been set, I’m very interested in what the Defenders will bring. Say what you want, we have a pretty interesting and eclectic group of heroes here, all anchored by fan favorite Rosario Dawson and her night nurse character. It will only have an 8 episode run which I think should keep a lot of the problems of these other series from being too much of a problem, so I have nothing but high hopes for it. Have you all seen Iron Fist as yet? Are you excited for the Defenders cross over, or could you take it or leave it?

Cheers

 

Leave a Reply

